Northumberland County Tax Collection Committee

Meeting Minutes

April 3, 2024

## **Re-Organizational Meeting**

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 PM by Paula Greco with the Pledge of Allegiance.

A determination was made that a quorum of delegates was in attendance.

A motion was made by Brian Manning, seconded by David Masser and passed to re-appoint Paula Greco as Chairperson.

A motion was made by Paula Greco, seconded by Patty Troutman and passed to appoint Rob Slaby as Vice-Chairperson.

A motion was made by David Masser, seconded by Brian Manning and passed to re-appoint Lucinda Bomberger as Secretary and Mark Burrows as Treasurer.

A motion was made by Christina Mench, seconded by Norm Foura and passed to appoint Ed Greco as the Solicitor. Paula Greco abstained. Ed Greco abstained.

A motion was made by David Masser, seconded by Patty Troutman and passed to retain Klacik & Associates as Auditor for 2023.

A motion was made by Brian Manning, seconded by Lucinda Bomberger and passed to retain Northumberland National Bank as Depository.

A motion was made by Brian Manning, seconded by Patty Troutman and passed to appoint the following members and alternates for the Tax Appeal Board:

Members: Joe Stender, Wayne Kahler, Patty Troutman

Alternates: Norm Foura, Mark Burrows

The re-organizational meeting adjourned at 7:08 PM and the Regular Meeting was called to order.

## **Regular Meeting**

## **Secretary Report**

A motion was made by Brian Manning, seconded by Christina Mench and passed to approve the minutes from the November 1, 2023 meeting as written.

## **Treasurer Report**

Treasurer Mark Burrows reported that the balance as of March 31, 2024 is \$6,867.19. Mark received 1 bill from Ed Greco, Solicitor in the amount of \$35.40.

A motion was made by Brian Manning, seconded by David Masser and passed to approve payment of the following bills:

Solicitor Ed Greco: \$35.41

And authorized payment of the following bills once Mark receives them(amounts not known at this time):

The News Item

The Daily Item

Ed Greco abstained. Paula Greco abstained.

Rob Slaby had provided Paula Greco with the contact information for Klacik and Associates but she hadn't received his email. When Paula receives the information, she will provide it to Treasurer Mark Burrows to begin the process for the 2022 audit.

Keystone Update: Representative Jayson Lawson from Keystone Collections attended the meeting and shared 2023 EIT collections increased 8% over 2022. Total EIT for 2023 was \$28,094,010. Delinquent EIT collections increased 66% over 2022 the total being for 2023 \$1,072,738. The public fund audit for 2023 is in process of completion. The Tax Filing deadline for 2023 Earned Income Tax is April 15, 2024.

Shikellamy SD approved an occupation elimination EIT increase tax, the rate going from .5% to .95% effective July 1, 2024.

Keystone is looking into other tax types for collection such as Delinquent Per Capita/Occupation Tax and Local Services Tax.

The next meeting will be October 2, 2024 at 7:00 PM.

A motion was made by Mark Burrows, seconded by David Masser and passed to appoint the Secretary to create a form to gather municipal and delegate contact information to improve committee communication regarding meetings, reminders and other committee business.

Jayson Lawson from Keystone will provide the Secretary with all NC Township, Borough and School District addresses to send the forms for completion and to be emailed or mailed to Brian Manning at the addresses he provided. The Secretary will be reimbursed for the postage.

Paula Greco asked Stephanie McKinney to see if she would be able to get a delegate for Upper Augusta.

Brenda Scandle shared that the Pennsylvania State Association of Tax Collectors communicated that Resolution 2024-26 will be considered in a few weeks at the PSATS convention to seek legislation that would allow municipalities to designate a collector for their property taxes. This would eliminate elected tax collectors.

A motion was made by David Masser, seconded by Patty Troutman and passed to adjourn the meeting at 7:28 PM.

Respectfully Submitted,

Lucinda R Bomberger Secretary of NCTCC